My Garden in July


July brings hot temperatures and more reluctance to work in the garden.  I limit my time to the cooler hours of the morning and late afternoons, wander here and there,  pulling weeds and thinking of all the things I need to “fix” for next year.  There are always disappointments.  My alyssums did not do well with all the rain we got earlier. They are spindly and sparse, not the full white cascade of blooms on the seed envelope. The marigolds I envisioned blooming brightly among the red cabbages are still forming with barely a hint of blooming.  The border is not what I imagined.  I will have to change my plan and wait patiently for a more successful showing next year.

In July my hydrangeas bloom white then turn to a nice limey green.  These are Annabelles and I’m very pleased with them.  They are not as tall as I’d like, growing only about 4 feet and they tend to flop from the weight of the the flower heads.  They provide three seasons of white to lime to beige blooms…well worth the space and limited maintenance.

My roses begin their second bloom in July, never as much as the first blooms of the season, but pretty spectacular nonetheless.

My food plants are growing and starting to produce.  These tomatoes have grown tall enough to hide the front porch and they are loaded with fruit.

pot of Crotons, Karl Forester grass behind, sedum tomatoes and marigolds to the left of pot, bergenia in front and yellow creeping jenny to the right

I have harvested several cabbages.  I enjoy walking outside with my knife in hand and announcing that I’m headed out to “get supper”.  I return with a cabbage, type “shrimp and cabbage” into a search engine, and a little while later I’m serving up a new dish.  It all just seems to taste better when it comes from your own garden.

I have one zucchini so far, but others will soon be coming.

I’m delighted to find at least two small cantalopes. I’m really hoping they will mature okay and make it to my table.

One of the best pleasures of summer are grape tomatoes.  They are named that way I think because of their shape and how they cluster on the vine like grapes.  I think someone noticed how much eating them resembles eating grapes as well.  I love to keep a bowl of clean grape tomatoes on my counter in the kitchen.  However, they rarely make it to the table this way as I tend to snack on them as I prepare supper.

Though it has been really hot the last few days, I have still taken some time to move a few of my daylilies.  It is so much easier to move them when you can still see the blooms.  I’ve tried marking them with ribbons or stakes and taking pictures so I would know which ones to dig up later, but it never seems to work. Some plant always ends up where it wasn’t supposed to be.  Now I just dig them up when they are blooming and put them where I want them.  They are one of the few plants you can do this with in the heat of summer.  It is best to cut them back and water them really well.  I have lots of daylilies, most I got from a neighbor who has since passed away.  She called these “King Alfred”.  I love how they look behind my hellebores, which are holding up nicely in the heat and sun.

King Alfred daylilies behind hellebores

One of my favorite daylilies is one I purchased myself and have divided often.  They are one of the shorter daylilies and they bloom profusely.  These are “Silk Ruffles”.

Silk Ruffles daylilies

My alliums bloomed early in July.  I like scattering them among other blooms.

alliums

My snowcap daisies were marvelous.  I wish they bloomed longer but they are stunning for a couple of weeks (sometimes longer depending on the weather).

Snowcap daisies

One of the hard things about gardening is realizing at some point that you have too much of something, and that you have to let it go.  I hate to throw out good plants though, so I try to give them away to anyone nearby that will have them.  I have already populated my neighbor’s yard with extras from my garden.  This week I decided to try something different.  I got a box and put in a hosta, some daylilies, and a few miniature irises that I had dug up and had no place in the garden to put back.  I wrote “FREE” on the box and set it in the shady part of the driveway.  The box was gone by the end of the day.  One more benefit of gardening….sharing!

About Glenda

Retired ... taking it slow and enjoying the simple things in life
This entry was posted in photos 2011, photos of my garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Garden in July

  1. drfugawe says:

    I love how weed free your garden is – I think this is because mine is not. Believe it or not, our normal summer has not yet begun! We’ve had only one or two days above 80, and we continue to have almost constant clouds and rain (usually, July 1st begins constant sun). I have cut cabbage and lettuce, and even a few snow peas – but the tomatoes and squash do not like this!

    • adnelg says:

      We are under an “extreme heat warning” for the rest of the week with temperatures in 3 digits. This has been a strange year for us. We’ve gotten more rain for longer in the season…a real blessing overall. Some plants have suffered but most have benefitted. I have enjoyed not having to drag out the soaker hoses. As for weeds, I do have them. I try to group plants closer together to discourage seed germination. In a few areas I have resorted to laying down black plastic. I still have spent a few hours though just digging out crabgrass and other uninvited plants. I am slowly embracing the idea of groundcovers as well. I am sure your cooler crop veggies love it there. Guess plants are like people in that certain climates are more appealing to some than to others. Thanks for commenting!

  2. she says:

    i’d love to get some of your “share-ings” if you have any more left! bring them with you when you come, if you have some things. i’ve been wanting to try some hostas at the base of my tree and have lots of room on the east side of the house as well as on either side of my driveway. i need to plant stuff to keep the weeds down!!! if you’ve given this year’s stuff away, no prob. see you soon!!!

    • adnelg says:

      Have too many Stella deOres so if I can stand the heat may try to dig some up and bring them. I also have too many hostas but they are a bear to dig this time of year. I got the one dug up and chopped the living daylights out of a huge one (went to plant heaven) because I wanted to put some of my daylilies in the spot where it is now too sunny for the hostas. I still cringe at destroying a perfectly good plant (though a little sunburned), but I’ve had to toughen my skin to deal with space and time and changing conditions. I will see what I can do later in the week. Gotta get that peach cobbler ready too!

  3. Bgoode says:

    I love your garden you have done a wounderful job. That is why mostly my husband and I would love to move back in the midwest rather than in Southern Arizona. Weather is great here a dry heat and breezes to help keep it cool. However trying to get something to grow here is a constant effort and time that I don’t have. To have green grass, trees and effortless gardening would be great again. But we stay were the job is until something opens up for us in other places.

    • adnelg says:

      You have some beautiful plants in Arizona as well. I’ve seen Agaves that just wow me along with those Saguro cactus and other succulents. Not sure I understand the “effortless gardening” but I know what you mean about green grass and trees. For all its changes, I do love the midwest. Certainly understand the need for staying with the job though. These days one can’t take any job for granted. Thanks for checking out my site.

  4. Pingback: Time to go Carpet of Snow :( « Goldie's Garden

Comments are appreciated.

