Spring Blues


Like a beam of light to our souls, yellow crocus, forsythia, and daffodils assure us that the cold of winter is ending and that warmer days are coming.

miniature daffodils

I love the brilliant and cheerful displays of yellow, but it is at this very time each year that I fall in love again with the soothing comfort of the cooler blues.  Throughout the cold days of winter I watch through a northern window as the leaves of my PJM azalea curl up and unfold with the temperatures.  In early March the leaves relax from their winter posture and their reddish cast morphs into a silver blueness.   I venture out to take a closer look and spy another spring blue, a clump of snow crocus transferred there by one of our busy neighborhood squirrels.

crocus under PJM azalea

The buds are plump and numerous.  Within a few days, they open to reveal a blanket of lavendar blossums, which in the garden world is another form of blue.

PJM azalea

Other plants like lamb’s ear, yucca, and santolina show off bluish tones within their leaves.

lamb’s ear

yucca

Santolina

Most years it’s April before the blooms of other blue wonders appear, but this year spring has come incredibily soon.  All my April wonders began blooming before March was half way over.   Today is April Fool’s day and nature is playing along.  We have temperatures in the 90s, way warmer than normal, and everywhere in my garden I’m seeing blue.  My miniature irises are showing off their blooms just as the last of the daffodils are closing.

miniature irises

I thought I’d never forget the names of my flowers, but I can’t recall the name of this one, though I’m pretty sure it’s a type of pulmonaria. The foliage is lovely in front of my red azaleas even after all the blooms have dropped off.

pulmonaria

The muscari bulbs I planted years ago never fail to woo me with their purple show.  The bulbs multiply and form these lovely clumps.  The leaves come up in the fall and stay green all winter.  When spring arrives they show off these little blooms, a type of grape hyacinth.

muscari (grape hyacinth)

Here they are cradled by new leaves of rose campion that seems to strut its own blue tone of green.

Hidden within the leaves of poppies that have grown way too fast, I spy my woodland phlox all wrapped in blooms of a paler blue. The blades of a wild onion has creeped in and continues the color display.

woodland phlox

Similar blooms of creeping phlox fill in the spaces near the patio.  They are just beginning to bloom.  In a couple of days there will be so many blooms that none of the green will show.

creeping phlox

Throughout the garden wild violets bloom.  They are invasive but small enough I tolerate them mostly.  They make a fairly decent groundcover and they reward my tolerance with these lovely blooms every April.

wild violets

Another groundcover is the ajuga which has a purplish-brown leaf and spikes of purple blooms.  It spreads by runner and has to be thinned out sometimes, but its springtime color makes it worth the occasional thinning.  I like it next to the silvery green and blue of lamb’s ear.

ajuga

I’m looking forward to other blues that will be coming soon…salvias and bluebells I await your appearance.

About Glenda

Retired ... taking it slow and enjoying the simple things in life
This entry was posted in photos 2012, photos of my garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring Blues

  1. What a beautiful garden! And thank you for posting a picture of hyacinths. A friend mentioned them the other day and I couldn’t picture them, but was too embarrased to admit it. Now I know!

    • This is just one form of hyacinth. These are smaller than some of the varieties, but generally they have the same basic form. Glad you enjoyed them and took the time to tell me.

  2. Your garden in an inspiration — so is the photography. I always enjoy your posts.

    • Thanks…I like yours too. I don’t always comment but I find your writing sensible and inspirational. I often feel we think a lot alike but you’re better at putting the ideas into words.

  3. drfugawe says:

    Speaking of hyacinths, in our yard, their are 1000s of grape hyacinths, but the deer love them so much, that we seldom see any spring blooms – do you suffer deer damage?

    • We’re in town and though we see deer ever now and then, they really aren’t a problem. If I lived in the rural area, I suspect they would be. I bet thousands of them together would look wonderful! I love mass plantings.

Comments are appreciated.

