Preparing for Frost


Exhausted from working in the garden all day, I was not happy to hear the “frost advisory” for our area.  It was a gamble I had taken when I chose to start planting early.  I live in Zone 5 so any annuals planted prior to May 1st run the risk of being lost should a big enough frost hit.  I was exhausted from working in the garden all day and this was not news I wanted to hear. Still, I was glad I’d found out in time to protect my investment.

I gathered up trash bags and tarps, laid them over the areas where high concentrations of annual flowers were planted, and held them down with bricks.  Next I dug out my many plastic containers I always save when I buy a new plant.  With the help of my husband we used them to cover individual plants.  P1020432I used a trash bag to cover my large outdoor pots as well. The next morning I removed everything and put it away for another day.  I saved all my new plants and still got the benefit of an early start. P1020434

About Glenda

Retired ... taking it slow and enjoying the simple things in life
This entry was posted in plants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing for Frost

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love your stories, keep writing about your life and the simple things that make life great!
    BG

Comments are appreciated.

